Dear Theseus,

 

Do not let that rampallion Lysander fool you as he has Hermia.  Yes, I must admit I was in relations with Helena. However, just as Hermia has fallen into Lysander’s traps, I into Helena’s. Once I was shone upon by the light of Hermia, I was freed. It is no fault of my own that Helena dotes upon me

 

Not only does Lysander’s argument put me in an undeserved poor light, but he is also questioning your ruling. Hermia deserves a man who knows his place, such as myself. I would never question your impeccable judgment. Why would you reward a man who is trying to humiliate you when it would also punish three innocent people? These people being myself, Hermia, and Egeus. By giving into this fairytale he has created, you are showing all of Athens that you are weak. Stick with Athenian tradition and you shall show us all the strong man you are.

 

The only reason left for you to grant their wishes for marriage is because they say they are in love. Hermia and Lysander may say they are in love but are they really? How well does young, foolish love last? One can learn to love another, a history of arranged marriages has proven this. Many before Hermia and Lysander must not have gotten their way and yet they have lead joyous lives by learning to love their partners.

 

I am a man worthy of Hermia’s love. I can provide a life of wealth and comfort. I will love Hermia with all my heart until death does us part. Egeus and yourself approve of me. If it were not for the tomfoolery of Lysander, there would be no question that I am the one meant for Hermia.  You know what you must do and I trust you will make the right decision.

 

Yours truly,

Demetrius

Leave a comment